I dropped the ball last night. I challenged myself to write a blog post, once a day for 100 days. Yesterday would have been Day 7- one straight week of blogging and a small milestone I was stoked to reach. But then yesterday happened.

I resigned from my job at 12:20 pm in the afternoon. I felt relieved for the better part of an hour and then reality (aka my manager) set in.  Long story short, on April 24th I will be starting my new position at St. Joseph’s hospital foundation. I can’t wait for this new role and a fresh start.

In the meantime, however, I’m left in a dreary, borderline-toxic situation. But it’s not hopeless because I have a choice. I can either take personal offense to everything said and done against me for 2 more weeks and let the negativity of others infect me. I can get angry and become bitter. I can vent to my friends, husband, and colleagues around the clock about the injustice of it all. Basically, I have the option of letting my feelings run the show and being a self-righteous, miserable brat.

OR I can choose the hard way, the way that, at the end of the day,  I always end up wishing I chose. I can stay and I can power through with grace and dignity. I can keep my head up and a smile on my face. I can vent through prayer and remind myself who is ultimately in control. When others dump on me, I don’t have to take it personally, because 9 times out of 10, it has nothing to do with me. I can choose to keep my head bowed down and keep my focus on doing good work.

So that, my friends is my choice in this situation. I choose to recognize that it is an insanely huge blessing that:

  1. I even have a job to stress about
  2. I have another opportunity lined up and a reason to give my resignation
  3. I have a choice in the matter

Once I change my perspective, I’m able to be grateful for the entire experience, the good and the bad. I can choose to celebrate the life lessons that I learned here. Yes, they were rough– but going through it is the only way to learn it.

Most importantly, I choose to enter into this new opportunity with a renewed focus and sense of purpose knowing that my worth and my value are not, never have been, and never will be tied to a job title or a company.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

